The Two Verses I Want To Write A Book On


God “raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.

Ephesians 2:6-7

For my whole Christian life, I have thought very little about the fact that – because Christ is standing in heaven, right now, before the Father –  that in God’s reckoning my presence in heaven is as true as it is here on earth.

I am present in heaven – because Christ is present in heaven.

I have access to God because Christ has access to God (my access is only granted through Christ).

My acceptability is because Christ, the only acceptable one, stands before the Father, in my place.

God the Father hears me when I pray because he hears Jesus who standing before him.

The only way I can fail to have access to God is if Jesus were to fall from God’s right hand. As long as Christ stands before God, I stand before God. And Christ will never fall from his Father’s hand, so I will never fall from the Father’s hand.

Because Christ stands before the Father, and the “Father gives everything he has to the Son”, then everything the Father gives to the Son, he gives to me – “the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness.”

This truth has convinced me more about the necessity of understanding, believing and holding to Penal Substitutionary Atonement and the Imputation of Christ’s Righteousness. If you don’t know what those terms are or mean, you should spend some time really learning what they mean. Basically, Christ’s death actually is my death, and Christ’s righteousness actually is my righteousness. In essence, Christ died my death, and not only did he live my life while he was on earth, but he even lives my life now in heaven.

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Galatians 2:20

Write a comment

