The Voice of God is Not Quiet


The easiest thing to do in life is not sleep. The easiest thing to do in life is suppress God.

It comes naturally – it’s my nature. My heart wants nothing more than to silence the voice of God in my life. It’s easy – it’s the practice of my flesh: to push God out.

If he speaks against me, I excuse. If he speaks against me, I equivocate. If he speaks against me, I minimize. If he speaks against me, I avoid.

It’s not that I run. Running would be too blatant, and my conscience would recognize that. It’s that I simply turn my back to God.

“I’m not listening…”

But he remains constant. His voice has gone out throughout the whole world. Men are without excuse. God’s voice is speaking at each and every moment of each and every day.

Day to day the universe pours forth speech. Yes, pours – not sprinkles, not drizzle, not rain, but pouring. His voice is a flood of words at this very moment.

Even if he speaks in a whisper, it is more violent that the rupturing of a thousand galaxies. It is clearer, brighter, and more intelligible than the most simple of expressions or thoughts. We cannot say that it was beyond our understanding.

Elijah heard more clearly the voice of God in a whisper than in the earthquake or the wind or the fire. When God intends to be heard, not event the deaf can claim exemption.

When I pass from this life, the one thing that will astound me most when I reflect on life on earth will be this one thing, “How could I be so deaf to not hear?”

If we cannot hear God, it is not because he has not been speaking. It is most certainly because we have not been listening.

Is it any wonder that Jesus often cried out (yes, cried out) “He who has ears to hear, let him hear”?

How deaf we must be if we go through our days without hearing him speak.

What can be said?

It has been said, “Tune my heart to sing thy praise.” To this we must add: “Tune my ears to hear thy voice”

One thought on “The Voice of God is Not Quiet

  1. I comment when I appreciate a article on a website or I have something to add
    to the conversation. Usually it’s caused by the fire displayed in the post I looked at. And after this post The Voice of God is Not Quiet | Nate Paschall. I was actually excited enough to drop a comment ;-) I do have some questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be only me or does it look like like some of these
    responses appear like they are left by brain dead folks? :
    -P And, if you are posting on other sites, I’d like to follow you. Would you make a list all of all your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Write a comment

