Ungrateful and Grateful


UNGRATEFUL
Why Me?
Why me, O Lord?
Why have you laid on me this terrible weight?
What have I done that I would deserve
For you to deal out this painful blow in me?

Life was going so well
And my future seemed so bright
But now all I see is the end near in sight.

O troubles and sorrows and pains ‘ere so great
They crush me and drive me down on the ground

This cursed estate!
Whence shall I arise?
From licking the dust
and moistureless eyes?

Why must I endure, this terrible weight?
Why me, O Lord?
Why me?

GRATEFUL
Why me?
Why me, O Lord?
Why have you given me this terrible weight?
What have I done that I would deserve
That you’d count me worthy, to suffer for thy sake?

Life was going so well
And my future seemed so bright
O’ now I see clearly, the end near in sight!

O troubles and sorrows and pains ‘ere so great
They crush me and drive me down on the ground

This blessed estate!
I shall arise!
From licking the dust
and moistureless eyes!

That you count me worthy to suffer this weight?
Why me, O Lord?
Why me?

Write a comment

