No Longer Run


No longer son, no longer run
From sin’s dreaded consequence
Though earthly toil you must face
The heavenly spoil awaits

The cost of sin is very great
And leaves much damage in it’s wake
But the sting I have removed
And now you stand with me approved

I’m merciful to spare you from
The things yourself you brought upon
But if I leave for you to face
It is to strengthen you with grace

For sparing you may do you well
But I’ve already spared from Hell
So whatever must be endured
Is to make you purer still

O’ child I do this for your good
For if I don’t you will not learn
It’s in the fires that the old self dies
And surely you’ll come out sanctified

Write a comment

