My God, How Great!


O’ Lord

my heart

is so

deceived

Unholy

and vile

putrid

and sick

To think

I would

justi-

fy it

I lie

I cheat

I hide

I run

And then

I turn

away

in fear

and flee

again

to sin’s

embrace

and watch

my soul

consumed

with hate

devour

the world

and wipe

my face

And then

the cross

it comes

and finds

the blood

that fills

my hands

and palms

And here

I stand

Covered

In shame

My God!

Again,

What have

I done!

O’ Lord

I see

my Sa-

vior’s blood

I look

upon

his bro-

ken frame

and see

on him

my guilt

and shame

The crown,

the thorns,

the nails,

the wounds,

My hands

have wrought

this aw-

ful thing

But God

he pleads

in my

behalf

and he

prepared

the great

exchange

My Sa-

vior came

down from

that tree

and with

his hands

he wiped

my face

he took

my hands

and washed

them clean

and said

“My friend,

you’re free”

My God!

Again,

What have

You done!

Condemned

your Son?

And set

me free?

O Lord,

my heart

it breaks

inside

I love

your grace

for you

are kind

and slow

to rage –

quick to

forgive

You gave

the cross

to come

and find

a one

as I –

sinner

for life.

You hold

me with

your gra-

cious hand

and hide

my sins

in Je

sus’ hands

So now

I stand

with joy

and hope

And now

loudly

proclaim

“My God

how great!”

One thought on “My God, How Great!

Write a comment

