Even Children Enter In


Then children were brought to him that he might lay his hands on them and pray. The disciples rebuked the people, but Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.” And he laid his hands on them and went away.
Matthew 19:13-15

No right to heaven can I claim
But as a child I must come
With nothing in my hands to give
But of God’s grace I must receive

If even children enter in
Who of themselves have naught to bring
What must this say of all I own
But of it all I must lay down

My savior’s hands were on their heads
With richest blessings for them all
And to think that I would bring
To him some greater offering

Dear child remember what you must bring
Not gold, not gifts, nor offerings
Not works, not deeds,
Not anything

His greatest riches are reserved
For whom he wills and whom he serves
What then my child will you give
But a small, poor heart for him to fill

No right to heaven can I claim
But as a child I must come
With nothing in my hands to give
But of God’s grace I must receive

One thought on “Even Children Enter In

  1. nate – loved it, i really did – my favorite line “what then my child will you give but a small, poor heart for him to fill.” thanks for sharing your gift with us.

Write a comment

