Would Thou Still Love Me?


I love thee O Lord, how great Thou art
===Would thou still love me were my hand on thee hard?
I love thee O Lord, how wonderful Thou art
===Would thou still love me were all cold and dark?
I love thee O Lord how much Thou hast given
===Would thou still love me if all were stripped down?
I love thee O Lord, how gracious Thou art
===Would thou still love me if thou were accursed?

Would I still be good if all went to hell,
===the whole world burnt up
===and none left to tell
And brought to my throne with judgments so great
===my wrath there poured out
===on sinners irate
Would I still be lovely if this creation just passed
===into the nether lands
===where man would not last

O, poor creature, come look, come see
===how good I still am
===though you not be
My glory still shines as bright as the day
===and no creature, no angel
===will take that away
So come to me creature, come and behold
===my goodness, my glory
===that has been of old
I am the Lion, and I am the lamb
===there is none like me, yes
===I AM WHO I AM

How I have loved thee, for good things received
===for how you have blessed me
===and that I even believed
How I have loved thee, for Jesus you sent
===but not for his sake
===Lord, of these I repent

How shall I love thee, O Lord in the sky?
===My heart is bent in
===My Self in my eye
How shall I be free of unending self-love
===my concern for no others
===and everything thereof?

My child, my child, come look on my Son
===My glory will pass before you
===As you look on the One

One thought on “Would Thou Still Love Me?

  1. Nate,
    This is truly a majestic poem. Beautiful… you constantly suprise me. I find my self often thinking “did that really just come from my little brother” and my heart responds telling me that I have known all along how gifted you are. All that to say, I am glad you are turning your gifts not into selfish praise, but to write words that direct our eyes to our glorious Christ. Blessings brother.

Write a comment

